[photo, State House, Annapolis, Maryland]
  • State Government
  • organizational chart - overview

  • Local Government
  • Federal Government

    Statehood. In Maryland, State government began when the 9th Provincial Convention adopted the first constitution of Maryland on November 8, 1776.

    Maryland, on April 28, 1788, became the seventh state to ratify the federal Constitution.

    State House, Annapolis, Maryland, January 2014. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

    [photo, State House (from Bladen St.), Annapolis, Maryland]


    Executive Branch
    The Governor is the chief executive of the State. Elected by the voters to a four-year term, the Governor presides over the Governor's Executive Council. Known as the Cabinet, the Council includes the heads of the twenty departments which oversee most State government agencies. The Governor also oversees independent agencies, and frequently authorizes executive commissions and task forces to study and recommend solutions to particular matters of public concern.

    State House (from Bladen St.), Annapolis, Maryland, July 2014. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

    Legislative Branch
    The General Assembly, Maryland's bicameral legislature, consists of the Senate, led by the Senate President, and the House of Delegates, led by the House Speaker. As of February 26, 2016, the 47-member Senate has 33 Democrats (70%) and 14 Republicans (30%). As of the same date, the 141-member House of Delegates includes 91 Democrats (64.5%), and 50 Republicans (35.5%).

    To enact laws, the General Assembly convenes annually on the second Wednesday in January for a 90-day session. The General Assembly will meet in Annapolis at its next regular session from January 11 to April 10, 2017.

    [photo, Robert C. Murphy Courts of Appeal Building, 361 Rowe Blvd., Annapolis, Maryland] Judicial Branch
    The Judiciary is headed by the Chief Judge of the Court of Appeals. Four court divisions make up the Judicial Branch: the Court of Appeals, the Court of Special Appeals, the Circuit Courts, and the District Court of Maryland. In addition, each county orphans' court has responsibility for probate.

    Within the Executive Branch, the Maryland Tax Court hears appeals on tax issues, and administrative law judges of the Office of Administrative Hearings review contested decisions in State administrative law cases.

    Robert C. Murphy Courts of Appeal Building, 361 Rowe Blvd., Annapolis, Maryland, June 2006. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

    [photo, Charles County Government Building, 200 Baltimore St., La Plata, Maryland]


    Of the 50 states, Maryland is among those with the fewest number of local governments.

    County Government. Local government is found in Maryland's 23 counties. For Maryland counties, three forms of government exist: county commissioners, code home rule, or charter.

    Charles County Government Building, 200 Baltimore St., La Plata, Maryland, May 2004. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

    [photo, Calvert County Courthouse, Prince Frederick, Maryland] County Commissioners. Under the county commissioners form of government, the General Assembly is authorized to legislate for the county. While a board of county commissioners exercises both executive and legislative functions defined by State law, and may enact ordinances, its legislative power is limited to those areas authorized by the General Assembly, enabling legislation, or public local laws (Code 1957, Art. 25).

    All Maryland counties formerly had boards of county commissioners, however, only six counties continue to operate in this fashion: Calvert, Carroll, Garrett, St. Mary's, Somerset, and Washington.

    Calvert County Courthouse, 175 Main St., Prince Frederick, Maryland, November 2012. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

    Code Home Rule. Since 1915, counties have had the option of governing under code home rule, which enables them to exercise broad local legislative authority (Chapter 493, Acts of 1965, ratified Nov. 8, 1966; Const., Art. XI-F). Six counties have chosen to adopt code home rule government: Allegany (1974), Caroline (1984), Charles (2002), Kent (1970), Queen Anne's (1990), and Worcester (1976).
    [photo, Arundel Center, 44 Calvert St., Annapolis, Maryland] Charter. The charter government separates the executive branch from the legislative branch (Chapter 416, Acts of 1914, ratified Nov. 2, 1915; Const., Art. XI-A). Most typically, it consists of a county executive and a county council. Charter government covers eleven Maryland counties: Anne Arundel (1964), Baltimore (1956), Cecil (2012), Dorchester (2002), Frederick (2014), Harford (1972), Howard (1968), Montgomery (1948), Prince George's (1970), Talbot (1973), and Wicomico (1964).

    Arundel Center, 44 Calvert St. (from Northwest St.), Annapolis (Anne Arundel County), Maryland, July 2014. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

    [photo, City Hall entrance (view from Vinson St.), 111 Maryland Ave., Rockville, Maryland] Municipal Government. Some 157 towns and cities (including Baltimore City) have their own governments. Created by State, county and municipal governments, special taxing districts exist in Montgomery County as well.

    City Hall entrance (view from Vinson St.), 111 Maryland Ave., Rockville, Maryland, February 2002. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

    [photo, U.S. Capitol (west view), Washington, DC]


    Maryland is represented in the U.S. Congress, and is part of the federal court system and other federal offices.

    U.S. Congress. In the U.S. Senate, Maryland is represented by two senators. In the U.S. House of Representatives, eight representatives speak for Maryland.

    U.S. Capitol (west view), Washington, DC, March 2004. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

    Federal Courts. Maryland is part of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit, and holds the U.S. District Court for the District of Maryland.

    Federal Offices & Agencies.

    Maryland Constitution
    Maryland Elections
    Maryland State Government Budget
    Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
    Maryland Departments
    Maryland Independent Agencies
    Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
    Maryland Universities & Colleges
    Maryland Counties
    Maryland Municipalities
    Maryland at a Glance

    Maryland Manual On-Line

    Search the Manual

    This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

    Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

    [ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
    ||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

    Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

    Copyright April 13, 2016 Maryland State Archives