[photo, Thomas V. Mike Miller, Jr., Maryland Senate President] THOMAS V. MIKE MILLER, JR., President of Senate
Democrat, District 27, Calvert, Charles & Prince George's Counties

Member of Senate since January 1975 (representing District 28, Prince George's County, 1975-82; District 27, Prince George's County, 1983-2002; District 27, Calvert & Prince George's Counties, 2003-14; District 27, Calvert, Charles & Prince George's Counties, since 2015).

Senate President since January 1987. Co-Chair, Legislative Policy Committee, 1987- (co-chair; management subcommittee, 1987-). Senate Chair, Investigation Committee, 1997-. Member, Rules Committee, 1983-; Executive Nominations Committee, 1991-98, 2001- Spending Affordability Committee, 1991-. Chair, Judicial Proceedings Committee, 1983-86. Deputy Majority Leader, 1983-86. Member, Joint Committee on Legislative Ethics, 1987-89. Board of Directors, State Legislative Leaders Foundation, 1987-. President, Southern States Senate Leaders Conference, 1988. President, Senate Presidents' Forum, 1997-99. Chair, Southern Legislative Conference of Council of State Governments, 2001-02 (vice-chair, 1999-2000; executive committee, 2008-).

Member, Tri-County Council for Southern Maryland, 1975-1982, 1995-; Executive/Legislative Committee to Study the Feasibility of a Biennial Budget, 1985; Governor's Oversight Committee on Liability Insurance, 1986; Chesapeake Bay Trust, 1987; Maryland Housing Policy Commission, 1987; Advisory Council on Lead Poisoning, 1987; Maryland Veterans Home Commission, 1987; State Commission on the Capital City, 1987-92; State House Trust, 1987-; Maryland 1992 Commission, 1989-94; Governor's Task Force on Trees and Forests, 1990; Museum Assistance Review Panel, 1990-; Task Force on Affiliation Between Historic St. Mary's City Commission and St. Mary's College of Maryland, 1996; Hall of Records Commission, 1996-; Task Force to Study Retail Electric Competition and the Restructuring of the Electric Utility Industry, 1997-98. Presidential Elector, Maryland, 2000. Member, Governor's Redistricting Advisory Committee, 2001-02; Maryland War of 1812 Bicentennial Commission, 2007-15; Maryland Access to Justice Commission, 2008-14; Governor's Redistricting Advisory Committee, 2011; Advisory Board on After-School and Summer Opportunity Programs, 2012-.

Member, House of Delegates, representing District 3, Prince George's County, January 13, 1971 to January 8, 1975. Member, Judiciary Committee, 1971-75.

Resident of Calvert County. Born in Clinton, Maryland, December 3, 1942. Attended Prince George's County public schools; Surrattsville High School, Clinton, Maryland; University of Maryland, B.S. (business administration), 1964; University of Maryland School of Law, LL.B., J.D., 1967. Admitted to Maryland Bar, 1967. Attorney. Member, American Bar Association; Maryland State Bar Association (special committee on citizenship & law-related education, 2002-); Prince George's County Bar Association. Member, Calvert, Surratts, Brandywine, Nottingham, Fort Washington, and Upper Marlboro Democratic Clubs. Delegate, Democratic Party National Convention, 1992, 2000, 2004, 2012. Chair, Democratic Legislative Campaign Committee. Past officer or director of numerous boys and girls clubs; civic, fraternal, business, social and historical organizations. Board of Directors, Accokeek Foundation. Recipient of awards from Washington-area Boy Scouts, Prince George's County Volunteer Fire Departments, Maryland Med-Chi, Maryland and Prince George's County Police Departments, Sierra Club, and veterans groups. Outstanding Citizen, Prince George's County Board of Trade. Outstanding Legislator, Maryland Municipal League. Public Service Award, AFL-CIO, Local 400. Outstanding Knight of Columbus. William P. Coliton Community Service Award, The Johns Hopkins University, 1986. Distinguished Alumnus of the Year, University of Maryland, 1988. Recognition Award, Maryland Association of Counties, 1993, 2004. William M. Bulger Excellence in State Legislative Leadership Award, State Legislative Leaders Foundation, 1997. Tyser Medallion, University of Maryland Alumni Association, 1999. Louis Goldstein Award for Public Service, Maryland AHEAD, 1999. Achievement Award, Surrattsville High School Foundation, 2000. John R. Hargreaves Distinguished Legislative Fellow Award, Institute for Public Affairs and Civic Engagement, Salisbury University, 2002. Alumni Hall of Fame, University of Maryland, 2005. Citation, Maryland Healthy Air Act Coalition, 2006. Marylander of the Year, Maryland Historical Society, 2007. National Conservation Leadership Award, Accokeek Foundation, 2009. Outstanding Service Award, University of Maryland College Park Foundation, 2010. Distinguished Service Award, Maryland Council for Social Studies, 2011. Distinguished Legislator Award, Maryland Municipal League, 2014. Married; five children; fourteen grandchildren.

House of Delegates
General Assembly
Legislative Committees
Legislative Process
Maryland Government
Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright April 28, 2016 Maryland State Archives