[photo, State House (from College Ave.), Annapolis, Maryland]
  • Subcabinets & Cabinet Councils

  • State House (from College Ave.), Annapolis, Maryland, April 2007. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

    Chair: Lawrence J. Hogan, Jr., Governor (410) 974-3591

    Boyd K. Rutherford, Lt. Governor (410) 974-3591
    John C. Wobensmith, Secretary of State (410) 974-5521
    Rona E. Kramer, Secretary of Aging (410) 767-1102
    Joseph Bartenfelder, Secretary of Agriculture (410) 841-5880
    David R. Brinkley, Secretary of Budget & Management (410) 260-7041
    R. Michael Gill, Secretary of Commerce (410) 767-6301
    Carol A. Beatty, Secretary of Disabilities (410) 767-3661
    Karen B. Salmon, Ph.D., State Superintendent of Schools (410) 767-0462
    Ben H. Grumbles, Secretary of the Environment (410) 537-3084
    Ellington Churchill, Jr., Secretary of General Services (410) 767-4960
    Van T. Mitchell, Secretary of Health & Mental Hygiene (410) 767-6505
    Kenneth C. Holt, Secretary of Housing & Community Development (301) 429-7451
    Sam Malhotra, Secretary of Human Resources (410) 767-7109
    David A. Garcia, Secretary of Information Technology (410) 260-4088
    Sam J. Abed, Secretary of Juvenile Services (410) 230-3100
    Kelly M. Schulz, Secretary of Labor, Licensing, & Regulation (410) 230-6020
    Mark J. Belton, Secretary of Natural Resources (410) 260-8101
    Wendi W. Peters, Secretary of Planning (410) 767-4510
    Stephen T. Moyer, Secretary of Public Safety & Correctional Services (410) 339-5004
    William M. Pallozzi, Secretary of State Police (410) 653-4219
    Pete K. Rahn, Secretary of Transportation (410) 865-1000
    George W. Owings III, Secretary of Veterans Affairs (410) 260-3838
    James D. Fielder, Jr., Ph.D., Secretary of Higher Education (410) 767-3312
    Maj. Gen. (MD) Linda L. Singh, Adjutant General (410) 576-6097

    Contact: Craig A. Williams, Ph.D.

    State House, 100 State Circle, Annapolis, MD 21401
    (410) 974-3570; fax: (410) 974-5735

    In 1922, the Governor's Executive Council originated as the Governor's Advisory Council. It reorganized in 1969 as the Governor's Executive Council. Today, the Council is known as the Governor's Cabinet. Meeting weekly, it coordinates, directs, and supervises State government.

    The Council consists of twenty-five ex officio members. They include the Governor, who chairs the Council; the Lieutenant Governor; the Secretary of State; the secretary of each principal department of the Executive Branch of State government; the State Superintendent of Schools; the Secretary of Higher Education, and the Adjutant General. The Governor may appoint an executive secretary for the Council (Code State Government Article, secs. 8-101 through 8-105; Public Safety Article, sec. 13-301).

    Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
    Maryland Departments
    Maryland Independent Agencies
    Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, Advisory Boards
    Maryland Universities & Colleges
    Maryland Counties
    Maryland Municipalities
    Maryland at a Glance

    Maryland Manual On-Line

    Search the Manual

    This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

    Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

    [ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
    ||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

    Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

    Copyright July 29, 2016 Maryland State Archives