Elected by Voters to 3-year terms (Constitution of 1776, sec. 42):
1777-1780 Clement Beall
1780-1783 Simon Nicholls
1783-1786 John Haymond Nicholls
1786-1789 William Robertson
1789-1792 Benjamin White Jones
1792-1795 Solomon Holland
1795-1798 Benjamin Ray, Jr.
1798-1801 Benjamin White Jones
1801-1804 Solomon Holland
1804-1807 Benjamin Ray, Jr.
1807-1810 John Fleming (F)
1810-1813 William Candler
1813-1816 Robert W. Fleming
1816-1819 Arnold T. Windsor (F)
1819-1822 Brice Shelby (F)
1822-1825 William Clements (R)
1825-1828 Henry Harding
1828-1831 Thomas F. W. Vinson
1831-1834 William O'Neall
1834-1837 Richard R. Waters
1837-1840 William O. Chappell
1840-1842 Henry Lilly
1842-1843 Thomas F. W. Vinson
1843-1846 Daniel H. Candler
1846-1849 William O. Chappell
1849-1851 William Thompson

Elected by Voters to 2-year terms (Constitution of 1851, Art. IV, sec. 20):
1851-1853 Philip J. Connell
1853-1855 Matthew Fields
1855-1857 Silas Browning
1857-1859 John T. Benson
1859-1861 Samuel Gloyd (D)
1861-1862 John T. Baker
1862-1865 Perrie Leizear

Elected by Voters to 2-year terms (Constitution of 1864, Art. IV, sec. 49):
1865-1867 Zephariah N. Jones

Elected by Voters to 2-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. IV, sec. 44):
1867-1869 James H. Claggett
1869-1871 John T. Benson
1871-1873 Thomas S. Waters of S.
1873-1875 Edward H. Waters (D)
1875-1877 Hilleary O. Higgins
1877-1879 John Ambrose Clements (D)
1879-1881 John H. Kelchner
1883-1885 John H. Kelchner

1895-1897 John A. Collier
1897-1899 Horton G. Thompson
1899-1901 Arthur Williams
1901-1903 John W. Collier (D)
1903-1905 Arthur Williams
1905-1907 James P. Gott
1907-1909 George W. Mullican (D)
1909-1911 William Edward Viett (D)
1911-1913 Clifford L. Howard (D)
1913-1915 Benjamin Peyton Whalen
1915-1917 W. Frank Gaither (D)
1917-1919 William L. Aud
1919-1921 George R. Nicholson
1921-1923 Olvie A. Moxley
1923-1926 Clay Plummer (D)

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. XVII; added by Chapter 227, Acts of 1922, ratified Nov. 7, 1922):
1926-1930 Joseph B. Pyles
1930-1934 Richard H. Lansdale (D)
1934-1938 George Edington Bell
1938-1942 H. Leslie Carlin (D)
1942-1946 Robert W. Farmer (D)

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. IV, sec. 44, amended by Chapter 786, Acts of 1945, ratified Nov. 5, 1946):
1946-1950 Frank I. Davis (D)
1950-1954 Charles S. Lawrenson (R)
1954-1962 Luke J. Bennett, Jr. (D)
1962-1978 Ralph W. Offutt (D)
1978-1986 James A. Young (D)
1986-2010 Raymond M. Kight (D)
2010- Darren M. Popkin (R)

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright September 29, 2015 Maryland State Archives