[photo, David R. Craig, Maryland Secretary of Planning] DAVID R. CRAIG
Secretary of Planning, 2015-16
Acting Secretary of Planning, 2015

Secretary of Planning, February 13, 2015 to July 6, 2016. Acting Secretary of Planning, January 21 to February 13, 2015.

Member, Governor's Executive Council, 2015-16; Governor's Council on the Chesapeake Bay (Governor's Chesapeake Bay Cabinet), 2015-16; BayStat Subcabinet, 2015-. Vice-Chair, Smart Growth Subcabinet, 2015-16. Chair, Maryland Heritage Areas Authority, 2015-16; Maryland Advisory Council on Historic Preservation, 2015-16. Board of Trustees, Maryland Agricultural Land Preservation Foundation, 2015-16. Member, Governor's Intergovernmental Commission for Agriculture, 2015-16; Baltimore Regional Transportation Board, 2015-16; Bay Restoration Fund Advisory Committee, 2015-16; Climate Change Commission, 2015-16 (co-chair, adaptation & response working group, 2015-16); Coast Smart Council, 2015-16; Critical Area Commission for the Chesapeake and Atlantic Coastal Bays, 2015-16; Task Force on the Disposition of the Crownsville Hospital Center Property, 2015-16; Interagency Disabilities Board, 2015-; Maryland Electric Vehicle Infrastructure Council, 2015-16; Commission on Environmental Justice and Sustainable Communities, 2015-16; Interagency Food Desert Advisory Committee, 2015-16; Maryland Green Building Council, 2015-16; State Coordinating Committee for Human Services Transportation, 2015-16; Advisory Committee for the Jefferson Patterson Historical Park and Museum, 2015-16; Maryland Military Installation Council, 2015-16; Interdepartmental Advisory Committee for Minority Affairs, 2015-16; Council on Open Data, 2015-16; Patuxent River Commission, 2015-16; Rural Legacy Board, 2015-16; Scenic and Wild Rivers Review Board, 2015-16; Interagency Committee on School Construction, 2015-16; State Center Executive Committee, 2015-16; State Highway Access Valuation Board, 2015-16; Maryland Sustainable Growth Commission, 2015-16; Tri-County Council for Southern Maryland, 2015-16; Maryland War of 1812 Bicentennial Commission, 2015 (co-chair, transportation & capital infrastructure advisory committee).

Member, City Council, Havre de Grace, 1979-85. Mayor of Havre de Grace, 1985-89, 2001-05. Member, Task Force to Review the State's Election Law, 1995; Task Force on Maryland's Dairy Industry, 1995-97; Maryland Tourism Development Board, 1995-98; Maryland Civil War Heritage Commission, 1995-99; Commission to Revise the Election Code, 1996-97; Maryland Commission for Celebration 2000, 1997-99; Advisory Committee on Transportation Goals, Benchmarks, and Indicators, 2003-08.

Member, House of Delegates, 1991-94, representing District 34 (Harford County). Member, Constitutional and Administrative Law Committee, 1991-92; Ways and Means Committee, 1992-93 (education subcommittee); Commerce and Government Matters Committee, 1994. Vice-Chair, Harford County Delegation, 1993.

Member of Senate, 1995-99, representing District 34 (Harford County). Member, Joint Committee to Study Mandates on Local Government, 1995-97; Economic and Environmental Affairs Committee, 1995-99 (education subcommittee; health subcommittee); Executive Nominations Committee, 1995-99; Joint Committee on Legislative Ethics, 1995-99; Joint Committee on Protocol. Chair, Harford County Delegation, 1998-99.

County Executive (Republican), Harford County, July 7, 2005 to December 1, 2014. Member, Governor's Commission on the Administration of Elections, 2005-06; Governor's Task Force on Workforce Housing, 2005-06. Board of Estimates, Harford County, 2005-14. Board of Directors, Baltimore Metropolitan Council, 2005-14 (vice-chair, 2006, 2013; chair, 2007). Board of Visitors, R Adams Cowley Shock Trauma Center, University of Maryland Medical System, 2005-14. Member, Cecil/Harford Bridges Work Group, 2006; Local Government Subcommittee, Base Realignment and Closure Subcabinet, 2007-11. Chair, Baltimore Regional Transportation Board, 2012-14 (member, 2005-14; vice-chair, 2009-12). Executive Board, Northeastern Maryland Additive Manufacturing Innovation Authority, 2014. Member, Task Force to Study Vocational and Technical Education Programs in Harford County, 2014.

Member, Governor-elect's Transition Team, 2014-15.

Executive Director, Maryland World War I Commission, 2016-.

Born in Havre de Grace, Maryland, June 12, 1949. Attended Havre de Grace High School; Towson State College, B.S. (history), 1971; Morgan State University, M.A., 1983. Former Assistant Principal, Magnolia, Aberdeen and Southampton Middle Schools. Delegate, Republican Party National Convention, 1992. President, Maryland Municipal League, 2005. Board of Trustees, Maryland Historical Society, 2005-. Board of Directors, Economic Alliance of Greater Baltimore, 2005-; County Executives of America, 2008-. Board of Directors, Maryland Association of Counties, 2011- (legislative committee, 2005-; treasurer, 2007; 2nd vice-president, 2008; 1st vice-president, 2009; president, 2010). Harford County Chair, Mitt Romney Campaign, 2012. Delegate, Republican Party National Convention, 2012. Life member, Susquehanna Museum; Friends of Concord Point Lighthouse; Havre de Grace Decoy Museum; Havre de Grace Maritime Museum. Member, Sons of the American Legion, Post 47; Boy Scouts of America Troop 967 (past district chair, Harford County). Virginia Scotten Award, Harford County Republican Party, 1987. Silver Beaver Award, Baltimore Area Council, Boy Scouts of America, 2009. Innovator of the Year, Daily Record, 2011. Married; three children; eight grandchildren.

House of Delegates
General Assembly
Legislative Committees
Legislative Process
Maryland Government
Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright July 06, 2016 Maryland State Archives