[photo, E. J. Pipkin, State Senator] E. J. PIPKIN
Republican, District 36, Caroline, Cecil, Kent & Queen Anne's Counties

Member of Senate, January 8, 2003 to August 12, 2013. Resigned August 12, 2013. Member, Finance Committee, 2003-13 (electric universal service program work group, 2003; health subcommittee, 2007-12; transportation subcommittee, 2008-13); Joint Committee on the State's Emergency Medical Response System, 2003-05; Senate Special Commission on Electric Utility Deregulation Implementation, 2005-06; Joint Commission on the Maryland Port Administration, 2005-06; Joint Committee on the Selection of the State Treasurer, 2011. Minority Whip, 2011. Minority Leader, 2011-13. Executive Nominations Committee, 2011-13; Joint Audit Committee, 2003-06, 2011-13; Joint Committee on the Chesapeake and Atlantic Coastal Bays Critical Area, 2007-13; Joint Committee on Welfare Reform, 2007-13; Joint Committee on Children, Youth, and Families, 2011-13; Joint Committee on Health Care Delivery and Financing, 2011-13; Joint Information Technology and Biotechnology Committee, 2011-13; Legislative Policy Committee, 2011-13; Spending Affordability Committee, 2011-13. Member, Maryland Rural Caucus, 2003-13. Member, National Conference of State Legislatures (environment & natural resources committee, 2003-07; agriculture, environment & energy committee, 2007-08; communications, financial services & interstate commerce committee, 2007-13; agriculture & energy committee, 2008-13; environment committee, 2008-13); Southern Legislative Conference (agriculture & rural development committee, 2008-13).

Member, Task Force to Study Efficiency in Procurement, 2003 (chair, efficiency subcommittee); Task Force on the Marketing of Grain and Other Agricultural Products, 2003-04. Chair, Task Force on Broadband Communications Deployment in Underserved Rural Areas, 2003-06. Member, Bainbridge Development Advisory Board, 2003-13; Mid-Shore Regional Council, 2003-13; Tri-County Council for the Lower Eastern Shore of Maryland, 2003-13; Upper Shore Regional Council, 2003-13; Task Force on Traffic Capacity Across the Chesapeake Bay, 2005-06; J. DeWeese Carter Center Advisory Board, 2005-09. Co-Chair, Task Force on the Availability and Affordability of Property Insurance in Coastal Areas, 2007-08. Member, Climate Change Commission, 2007-13.

Born in Dundalk, Maryland, November 1, 1956. Attended Dundalk High School; Salisbury State College; Roanoke College, B.A.; Darden Graduate School of Business Administration, University of Virginia, M.B.A. Founder, Citizens Against Open Bay Dumping, Inc., 1998. Delegate, Republican Party National Convention, 2004, 2012. Married; three children.

House of Delegates
General Assembly
Legislative Committees
Legislative Process
Maryland Government
Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright September 29, 2015 Maryland State Archives