Terry McAuliffe, Governor of Virginia, Chair (chosen by Commission in Nov., 1-year term), 2016

Maryland member: Lawrence J. Hogan, Jr., Governor (C. Edmon Larrimore, Administrator, Mining Program, Land Management Administration, Department of the Environment, alternate)

Gregory E. Conrad, Executive Director

445-A Carlisle Drive, Herndon, VA 20170
(703) 709-8654; fax: (703) 709-8655

The Interstate Mining Compact Commission was created in April 1971 by the Interstate Mining Compact initiated by the Council of State Governments following eight years of discussion and developmental action by a group of interested mining states under the auspices of the Southern Governors Conference. To date, twenty-three states have ratified the Compact; Maryland ratified in 1973 (Chapter 297, Acts of 1973). Member states include Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, Missouri, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, and Wyoming. The states of Colorado and New Mexico are associate members.

The purposes of the Compact are to protect and restore land, water, and other resources affected by mining. The Commission works to eliminate or reduce the pollution and deterioration of land, water, and air attributable to mining. Further, the Commission encourages programs to protect, conserve, and improve the usefulness of natural resources. The Commission also recommends techniques to improve, restore, or protect land and other resources affected by mining and helps support and maintain an efficient, productive mining industry.

The Commission is authorized to study mining operations, processes, and techniques, as well as conservation, adaptation, improvement, and restoration of land and related resources affected by mining. The Commission also may gather and disseminate information, make recommendations, and cooperate with public and private entities concerned with any subject within the purview of the Compact.

Each member state has agreed to establish a program to conserve and use mined lands. Such programs protect the public and landowners from damage due to mining operations; set standards for conducting mining operations and handling mining waste; and institute and maintain procedures to adapt, restore, and rehabilitate mined lands. They also prevent, abate, and control pollution from past, present, and future mining.

The twenty-three governors of the states that have ratified the Compact compose the Commission. Each governor may name an alternate member. The Commission's annual budget for Fiscal Year 2016 is $665,000. The first half of the budget is assessed to each member state on an equal basis. The other half is pro-rated on the basis of the value of mineral production in the party states (Code Environment Article, secs. 15-901 through 15-902).

Interstate Agencies (Maryland memberships)
Maryland & the Federal Government
Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright December 22, 2015 Maryland State Archives