[photo, Montgomery Park Business Center, 1800 Washington Blvd., Baltimore, Maryland] Mary Beth Tung, Ph.D., Maryland, Chair (chosen by Commission in Nov., 1-year term)
Jason Frame, West Virginia, Vice-Chair (chosen by Commission in Nov., 1-year term)

Maryland members appointed by Governor to 2-year terms: Mary Beth Tung (Edward C. Hammerberg, alternate); Clifford S. Mitchell, M.D. (Albert J. Romanosky, M.D., Ph.D., alternate). Terms expire 2017.

Montgomery Park Business Center, 1800 Washington Blvd., Baltimore, Maryland, February 2004. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

Staff: Edward C. Hammerberg

c/o Land Management Administration
Dept. of the Environment, 1800 Washington Blvd., Baltimore, MD 21230 - 1724
(410) 537-3356; fax: (410) 537-4133

In 1986, Maryland ratified the Appalachian States Low-Level Radioactive Waste Compact (Chapter 33, Acts of 1986). Delaware, Pennsylvania, and West Virginia also have ratified the Compact. The Compact established the Appalachian States Low-Level Radioactive Waste Commission to assure interstate cooperation for the proper management and disposal of low-level radioactive wastes. The Commission first met in June 1990.

The Commission identifies a host state (based on the volume and curie content of radioactive waste generated) to receive and dispose of radioactive waste from party states. Pennsylvania is currently the host state. Costs and benefits are distributed equitably among party states. Wastes generated outside the region may be banned by the Commission.

To reduce the volume of low-level radioactive waste, the Commission conducts research and recommends regulations. The Commission also prepares contingency plans in the event the regional facility is closed and enters into temporary agreements for emergency disposal.

Appointed by the governor, two members from each party state serve on the Commission, as do four members from the host state. The Commission provides for its own organization and procedures, by-laws, rules, and regulations (Code Environment Article, secs. 7-301 through 7-306). By resolution adopted in 1998, the chair of the Commission serves as Executive Director, and the vice-chair as Secretary/Treasurer.

The Commission's annual meeting is held in the autumn.

Interstate Agencies (Maryland memberships)
Maryland & the Federal Government
Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright March 29, 2016 Maryland State Archives