[photo, Town Hall, 21 West Frederick St., Walkersville, Maryland] In the period 1892 to 1914, three commissioners constituted the Town Commission of Walkersville. From among their number, they chose a president. Since the adoption of a new town charter in 1914, the Town Commission has consisted of five commissioners and a burgess, who heads the Commission.

Town Hall, 21 West Frederick St., Walkersville, Maryland, November 2002. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.


1914-1916 Thomas R. Saylor
1916-1918 John W. Stimmel
1918-1920 Joseph H. Engle
1920-1922 Thomas R. Saylor
1922-1928 Marshall O. Ramsburg
1928-1930 Thomas R. Saylor
1930-1940 W. Nelson Stauffer
1940-1942 Kent C. Nicodemus
1942-1946 Calvin C. Keeney
1946-1948 Elroy F. Grimes
1948-1952 William D. Powell
1952-1972 Gilmore C. Trout
1972-1976 Richard A. Winn
1976-1996 Orley R. Bourland, Jr.
1996-1998 John L. Thompson, Jr.
1998-2015 Ralph W. Whitmore
2015- Chad W. Weddle

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright September 29, 2015 Maryland State Archives