[photo, Boonsboro Free Library, 19 North Main St., Boonsboro, Maryland]


In Boonsboro, from 1831 through 1939, mayors (originally burgesses) were elected annually. From 1940 through 1975, they served two-year terms. Since 1976, mayors have been chosen for four-year terms.

Boonsboro Free Library, 19 North Main St., Boonsboro, Maryland, June 2004. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

[photo, Town Hall, 21 North Main St., Boonsboro, Maryland] Elected by Voters to 1-year terms:
1831-1835 Jonathan Shafer
1835-1836 David Brookhart
1836-1837 Lewis Fletcher
1837-1838 Joseph O'Neal
1838-1839 Anthony McBride
1839-1840 Joseph Knox
1840-1841 Charles Perry
1841-1843 Jacob Smith
1843-1845 James Chambers
1845-1846 Andrew Newcomer
1846-1847 Lewis Fletcher
1847-1848 James Chambers
1848-1850 David Gilbert

Town Hall, 21 North Main St., Boonsboro, Maryland, June 2004. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

1850-1851 David H. Keedy
1851-1852 J. C. Brining
1852-1853 William H. Miller
1853-1854 P. B. Stouffer
1854-1855 J. C. Brining
1855-1856 John Stonesifer
1856-1857 Jacob Smith
1857-1859 James Chambers
1859-1860 Joseph O'Neal
1860-1862 Tyrus Welty
1862-1864 James Chambers
1864-1865 George Numan
1865-1867 Josiah Knodle
1867-1868 Jacob Blecker
1868-1869 David Schlosser
1869-1872 John H. Smith
1872-1874 Anslem Waters
1874-1876 Elias Cost
1876-1877 George Hoffman
1877-1880 William Welck
1880-1881 Thomas E. Smith
1881-1882 John Murdock
1882-1883 George Nyman
1883-1885 John H. Lakin
1885-1886 John C. Brining
1886-1887 William E. Itnyre
1887-1888 A. M. V. B. Deaner
1888-1889 Frank Smith
1889-1891 John R. Fletcher
1891-1892 John E. Smith
1892-1893 Matthew O'Brn
1893-1894 M. L. Storm
1894-1895 Eli Wade
1895-1897 James P. Ford
1897-1898 Frank E. Newcomer
1898-1899 William L. Irwin
1899-1901 John R. Fletcher
1901-1902 O. J. Stotlemyer
1902-1904 Elias E. Martz
1904-1905 C. C. Ford
1905-1906 George M. Stover
1906-1909 G. J. Roudabush
1909-1910 Elias E. Martz
1910-1911 G. J. Roudabush
1911-1912 H. G. Routzahn
1912-1916 G. J. Roudabush
1916-1917 George M. Stover
1917-1919 J. L. Danner
1919-1920 H. P. Lynch
1920-1921 Harvey J. Huffer
1921-1925 George McBride
1925-1926 Oscar Morgan
1926-1929 George McBride
1929-1934 H. S. Bomberger
1934-1935 Alfred C. Huffer
1935-1938 D. Frank Miller
1938-1940 John Hershberger

Elected by Voters to 2-year terms:
1940-1942 John Hershberger
1942-1960 John B. Wheeler
1960-1970 John L. Herr
1970-1974 Kenneth E. Ramsburg
1974-1976 Edward T. Weaver

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms:
1976-1980 Stuart L. Mullendore
1980-1988 John L. Herr
1988-2016 Charles F. (Skip) Kauffman, Jr.
2016- Howard W. Long

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual
e-mail: mdmanual@mdarchives.state.md.us

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright June 06, 2016 Maryland State Archives