Appointed by Governor (Constitution of 1776, secs. 40, 41):
1777-1780 Thomas Sprigg
1780-1806 Thomas Belt
1806-1826 George C. Smooth
1826-1843 Daniel Schnebly (died Sept. 1843)
1843 Robert Wason (resigned Nov. 1843)
1843-1851 James Wason

Elected by Voters to 6-year terms (Constitution of 1851, Art. IV, sec. 18):
1851-1857 James Wason
1857-1865 William Logan

Elected by Voters to 6-year terms (Constitution of 1864, Art. IV, sec. 46):
1865-1867 William Logan

Elected by Voters to 6-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. IV, sec. 41):
1867-1873 Mathias S. Barber
1873-1918 Thomas E. Hilliard (D)
1918-1919 Thompson A. Brown (R)
1919-1926 John D. Hollyday (D)

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. XVII, added by Chapter 227, Acts of 1922, ratified Nov. 7, 1922):
1926-1928 John D. Hollyday (D) (resigned 1928) (1882-1948)
1928-1930 Charles A. Weagley (D)
1930-1956 Harry Newcomer

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. IV, sec. 41, amended by Chapter 99, Acts of 1956, ratified Nov. 6, 1956):
1956-1962 Harry Newcomer
1962-1982 Thomas W. Parks (D)
1982-1992 Marvin E. Toms
1992-2010 John R. Bloyer II (D)
2010- Jason A. Malott (D)

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual
e-mail: mdmanual@mdarchives.state.md.us

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright September 29, 2015 Maryland State Archives