Appointed by Attorney General (Chapter 126, Acts of 1821 December session):
1844-1849 Richard Jones Bowie (W)
1850-1851 William Viers Bouie

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1851, Art. V, secs. 1-6):
1851-1865 William Viers Bouie

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1864, Art. V, secs. 7-11):
1865-1867 William Viers Bouie

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. V, secs. 7-12):
1867 William Viers Bouie
1868-1872 George Peter (D)
1872-1879 Spencer Cone Jones (D)
1879-1887 James Barnes Henderson (D)
1891-1895 Edward C. Peter
1895-1899 Alexander Kilgour
1899-1903 Henry Maurice Talbott (D)
1903-1907 Robert B. Peter (D)
1907-1912 Bowie F. Waters (D)
1912-1916 William O. Spates
1916-1920 Albert M. Bouie
1920-1924 Thomas L. Dawson (R)
1924-1927 Joseph C. Cissel (D)
1927-1931 Robert B. Peter, Jr. (D)
1931-1935 Stedman Prescott (D)
1935-1938 James H. Pugh (D)
1938-1943 Benjamin G. Wilkinson
1943-1947 Joseph P. Simpson (D)
1947-1954 Walter W. Dawson (R)
1954-1958 Alger Y. Barbee (D)
1959-1967 Leonard T. Kardy
1967-1971 William A. Linthicum, Jr. (D)
1971-1996 Andrew L. Sonner (D)
1996-1998 Robert L. Dean (D)
1999-2007 Douglas F. Gansler (D)
2007- John J. McCarthy (D)

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright September 29, 2015 Maryland State Archives