Appointed by Attorney General (Chapter 126, Acts of 1821 December session):
1849-1850 Joseph Wickes
1850-1851 John Mitchell Robinson

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1851, Art. V, secs. 1-6):
1860 Eben F. Perkins

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1864, Art. V, secs. 7-11):

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. V, secs. 7-12):
1867-1875 James Alfred Pearce, Jr. (D)
1876-1883 H. W. Vickers (D)
1883-1892 Marion deKalb Smith (D)
1893 William M. Slay

1895-1903 John D. Urie
1903-1912 William W. Beck
1912-1920 Harrison W. Vickers, Jr. (D)
1920-1926 S. Scott Beck
1926-1939 Stephen R. Collins
1939-1947 Harrison W. Vickers, Jr. (D)
1947-1955 A. Parks Rasin, Jr.
1955-1963 Philip J. Skipp
1963-1971 William Parson Fennell
1971-1975 Richard R. Cooper
1975-1979 Floyd L. Parks
1979-1983 H. Allan Blizzard
1983-1990 J. Frederick Price
1991-1999 Susanne Hayman (R)
1999-2015 Robert H. Strong, Jr. (D)
2015- Harris P. Murphey (R)

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright September 29, 2015 Maryland State Archives