Educational matters that affect Harford County come under the control of the Board of Education (Code Education Article, secs. 4-101 through 4-126).

Formerly, the Board consisted of nine members, seven of whom were appointed by the Governor, along with one who served ex officio, and a student member. The Board transitioned to a partially elected Board with the November 2010 election.

As of July 2015, the Board is composed of eleven members. Six (one from each councilmanic district) are elected by the voters to four-year terms (Code Election Law Article, secs. 8-801 through 8-806). Three are appointed by the Governor to four-year terms, and the Superintendent of Schools serves ex officio. A student member, chosen by the Harford County Regional Association of Student Councils, serves a one-year term (Chapters 745 & 746, Acts of 2009; Code Education Article, secs. 3-6A-01 through 3-6A-05). Formerly a nonvoting member, the student member was allowed certain voting rights in 2012 (Chapter 91, Acts of 2012).


The Superintendent of Schools administers the Harford County Public School System, and serves as executive officer, secretary, and treasurer of the Board of Education (Code Education Article, secs. 4-102; 4-201 through 4-206).

With the approval of the State Superintendent of Schools, the Board of Education appoints the Superintendent of Schools to four-year terms.


Located near Bel Air, Harford Community College was founded as Harford Junior College and opened in September 1957. The College offered classes in the basement of Bel Air High School until 1964, when it moved to its present location on Thomas Run Road east of Bel Air. In 1971, it was renamed Harford Community College.


The Harford County Public Library was established in 1946. At that time, Harford became the first county to take advantage of the State Library Law (1945) which authorized matching State funds (based on a county's population) for the establishment of county library stystems.

Today, the Public Library is based at Bel Air. Its ten branch libraries include Aberdeen; Abingdon (May 2004); Darlington (1948); Edgewood (Dec. 1963); Fallston (March 1985); Havre de Grace (1960); Jarrettsville (May 2006); Joppa (July 1980); Norrisville (1985); and Whiteford (June 1992).

Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual
e-mail: mdmanual@mdarchives.state.md.us

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright September 29, 2015 Maryland State Archives