Appointed by Governor (Chapter 146, Acts of 1817 December session):
1818 Raphael Neale

1824 John Johnson, Jr.

Appointed by Attorney General (Chapter 126, Acts of 1821 December session):
1841-1850 George Brent

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1851, Art. V, secs. 1-6):
1854 Robert Sennett Reeder
1860-1865 Richard H. Edelen (D)

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1864, Art. V, secs. 7-11):
1865-1867 Richard H. Edelen (D)

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. V, secs. 7-12):
1867-1880 Eugene Digges (R)
1880-1883 James F. Matthews (D)
1883-1892 L. Allison Wilmer
1892-1896 James F. Matthews (D)
1896-1900 Adrian Posey
1900-1908 L. Allison Wilmer
1908-1924 Ferdinand C. Cooksey
1924-1926 F. Stone Posey
1926-1928 Ferdinand C. Cooksey
1928-1946 Edward J. Edelen (D)
1946-1951 Thomas C. Carrico
1951-1955 Robert T. Barbour
1955-1963 George W. Bowling
1963-1975 John C. Hancock
1975-1980 Robert C. Nalley
1980-1985 Stephen J. Braun (D)
1985-1989 Richard Alan Cooper
1989-2011 Leonard C. Collins (D)
2011- Anthony B. (Tony) Covington (D)

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright September 29, 2015 Maryland State Archives