Educational matters that affect Charles County are under the control of the Board of Education (Code Education Article, secs. 4-101 through 4-126).

The Board of Education consists of eight members. Seven are elected by the voters to four-year terms (Code Election Law Article, secs. 8-801 through 8-806). A nonvoting student member, elected by the Charles County Association of Students Councils, serves a one-year term (Code Education Article, secs. 3-101 through 3-105; 3-501 through 3-504).


The Superintendent of Schools administers the Charles County Public School System, and serves as executive officer, secretary, and treasurer of the Board of Education (Code Education Article, secs. 4-102; 4-201 through 4-206).


The College of Southern Maryland is the community college for southern Maryland. It started as the Charles County Community College in 1958 with evening classes offered at La Plata High School. In 1968, the College moved to its present site when construction began on the La Plata campus. Thereafter, campuses formed in the adjoining southern counties. In 1978, the St. Mary's County Community College began at Great Mills High School and, in 1980, the Calvert County Community College organized. The campus at St. Mary's County was established at its present Leonardtown site in 1997.

On July 1, 2000, the College of Southern Maryland was created to join the three southern Maryland campuses into a regional college for Calvert, Charles and St. Mary's counties (Code Education Article, secs. 16-601 through 16-610). Subsequently, Calvert County's Prince Frederick campus opened in 2005.


Based in La Plata, the Charles County Public Library originated in 1922 when books were offered for lending on the second floor of the old town jail. Originally supported by private donations and fund raising, public funds were budgeted for the Library in 1950. The main Library moved to its current location in 1966.

Today, the Library has three branches: the main branch at La Plata, the P. D. Brown Memorial Branch at Waldorf, and the Potomac Branch at Indian Head.

Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright September 29, 2015 Maryland State Archives