Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1851, Art. V, secs. 1-6):
1851-1855 James T. Briscoe (D)
1859-1863 Joseph A. Wilson

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1864, Art. V, secs. 7-11):

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. V, secs. 7-12):
1871-1875 Joseph A. Wilson (D)
1875-1879 Richard H. Hagner
1879-1891 John Parran Briscoe (D)
1891-1895 Francis Gaunt
1895-1899 John B. Gray (D)
1899-1920 J. Frank Parran (R)
1920-1955 Arthur W. Dowell (R)
1955-1959 David A. Harkness
1959-1967 Allen S. Handen
1967-1970 Thomas A. Rymer (D)
1970-1974 Warren F. Sengstack (D)
1974-1978 Naji P. Maloof (D)
1978-1979 Larry D. Lamson
1979-1994 Warren F. Sengstack (D)
1994-2005 Robert B. Riddle (R)
2005-2006 E. Gregory Wells (D)
2007- Laura L. Martin (R)

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright September 29, 2015 Maryland State Archives