[photo, O. James Lighthizer, County Executive, Anne Arundel County, Maryland] O. JAMES LIGHTHIZER
County Executive (Democrat), 1982-90

Member, House of Delegates, representing Anne Arundel County (District 33), 1979-82. Member, Ways and Means Committee, 1979-82.

County Executive, Anne Arundel County, 1982-90. Member, Social Services Board, Anne Arundel County, 1982-90. Member, Regional Planning Council, 1982-90; State Commission on the Capital City, 1982-90; Advisory Board On Liability, 1983-84; Physical Fitness Commission, 1989-90; Task Force on School Construction Finance, 1989-90; Wildlife Advisory Commission, 1989-90; Governor's Commission on Growth in the Chesapeake Region, 1989-94.

Secretary of Transportation, 1991 to 1995. Chair, Task Force on Chesapeake Bay Ferries, 1991-95; Maryland Greenways Commission, 1991-95; Governor's Motor Carrier Task Force for Safety and Uniformity, 1991-92; Maryland Port Commission, 1991-95; Maryland Transportation Authority, 1991-95. Member, Governor's Executive Council, 1991-95; Governor's Subcabinet for Energy Management, 1991-95; Governor's International Cabinet, 1991-95. Member, Baltimore Regional Council of Governments, 1991-92; Interagency Committee on Aging Services, 1991-95; Capital Debt Affordability Committee, 1991-95; Governor's Drug and Alcohol Commission, 1991-95; Maryland Economic Development Corporation, 1991-95; Maryland Advisory Council on Historic Preservation, 1991-95; Interdepartmental Advisory Committee for Minority Affairs, 1991-95; Procurement Advisory Council, 1991-95. Chair, Maryland Civil War Heritage Commission, 1992-99. Member, Interagency Economic Growth, Resource Protection,and Planning Committee, 1994-95; Executive Agency Recycling Coordinating Council (past chair), 1994-95; Maryland State Employee's Risk Management Advisory Council, 1994-95. Chair, Baltimore/Washington International Airport Commission, 1994-97.

Member, Governor's Commission on the Structure and Efficiency of State Government, 2003 (chair, environmental programs subcommittee). Co-Chair, Task Force on Traffic Capacity across the Chesapeake Bay, 2004-06. Board of Trustees, Maryland Historical Trust, 2004-. Member, Maryland Highway Centennial Executive Committee, 2007-08.

Born in Ashtabula, Ohio, March 20, 1946. Attended Ashtabula parochial schools, Ashtabula, Ohio; University of Dayton, B.A. (political science), 1968; Georgetown University Law Center, J.D., 1975. Admitted to Maryland Bar. Attorney. Lobbyist and Partner in law, Miles & Stockbridge, 1996-99. Member, Maryland State Bar Association; Anne Arundel County Bar Association. Member, Democratic State Central Committee, 1987-88. Delegate, Democratic Party National Convention, 1988. President, Civil War Preservation Trust, 1999-. Board of Directors, Preservation Maryland, 2003-06. Married; five children.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright July 15, 2016 Maryland State Archives