[photo, Public Safety Building, 20 Bedford St., Cumberland, Maryland] Allegany County has seven municipalities: Barton, Cumberland, Frostburg, Lonaconing, Luke, Midland, and Westernport. Its county seat, Cumberland, is the oldest city, incorporated in 1815. Later, Frostburg formed its own government in 1839, Westernport in 1858, Lonaconing in 1890, Barton in 1900, Midland in 1900, and Luke in 1922.
  • Map of Urban Areas in Allegany County, 2010
  • Public Safety Building, 20 Bedford St., Cumberland, Maryland, May 2000. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

    Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
    Maryland Departments
    Maryland Independent Agencies
    Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
    Maryland Universities & Colleges
    Maryland Counties
    Maryland Municipalities
    Maryland at a Glance

    Maryland Manual On-Line

    Search the Manual

    This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

    Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

    [ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
    ||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

    Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

    Copyright September 29, 2015 Maryland State Archives