Chair: Elizabeth M. (Betty) Hewlett (D), Prince George's County, 2017
Vice-Chair: Casey Anderson, Esq. (D), Montgomery County, 2019

Montgomery County Planning Board (appointed by County Council with County Executive consent to 4-year terms): Marye Wells-Harley (D), 2017; Natali Fani-Gonzalez (D), 2018; Norman Dreyfuss (R), 2019; Gerald R. Cichy (R), 2020.

Prince George's County Planning Board (appointed by County Executive with County Council consent to 4-year terms): A. Shuanise Washington (R), 2016; John P. Shoaff, Esq. (D), 2018; Dorothy F. Bailey (D), 2019; Manuel R. Geraldo, Esq. (R), 2019.

Ex officio (Montgomery County): Gwen Wright, Director of Planning; Michael F. Riley, Director of Parks.

Ex officio (Prince George's County): Fern V. Piret, Director of Planning; Ronnie Gathers, Director of Parks & Recreation.

Patricia C. Barney, Executive Director

6611 Kenilworth Ave., Suite 402, Riverdale Park, MD 20737
(301) 454-1740
e-mail: webmanager@mncppc.org
web: www.mncppc.org/

[photo, County Administration Building, Gov. Oden Bowie Drive, Upper Marlboro, Maryland] Prince George's County Regional Office
County Administration Building, 14741 Governor Oden Bowie Drive, Upper Marlboro, MD 20772
(301) 952-3560
e-mail: info@ppd.mncppc.org
web: www.mncppc.org/pgco/

County Administration Building, Gov. Oden Bowie Drive, Upper Marlboro, Maryland, October 2007. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

Certified Annual Financial Report to be made available for distribution to public.

Formed in 1927, the Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission has jurisdiction over parks and planning in Montgomery County and Prince George County, Maryland (Chapter 448, Acts of 1927). This authority covers all of the two counties except for certain municipalities. Since 1970, the Commission also has operated the Prince George's County recreation program, funded by a separate countywide recreation tax. In addition, the Commission provides services and educational programs relating to conservation and nature, local history, and the arts, and offers recreation classes.

To delineate the Commission's areas of authority, two districts were created: one for parks, and a second for planning and zoning.

Parks. Within the Maryland-Washington Metropolitan District, the Commission is empowered to acquire, develop, maintain, and operate parks systems. In all areas except Laurel, the Commission may spend public funds to acquire park land. Subject to county government approval, it also may sell general obligation bonds to fund park acquisition and development. All other expenses, including debt service, are paid from a park tax levied within the District.

Planning and Zoning. Taking into account all factors of urban, suburban, rural and regional planning, the Commission prepares and administers a General Plan for the physical development of the Maryland-Washington Regional District. All of Prince George's County (except Laurel) and all of Montgomery County (except Rockville, Gaithersburg, and several small municipalities) are included in the district. For the portion of the District within their county, each planning board makes zoning recommendations to its county council. To enact zoning ordinances and change the zoning map, the planning boards have exclusive responsibility for subdivision approval, location and grades of streets, location of public buildings and utilities, and street naming and house numbering. Administration and operating expenses of the Commission are financed by property taxes levied by the two counties.

The Commission's ten members include five residents of Montgomery County and five of Prince George's who serve four-year terms. The five members from each county make up the county planning board. In Montgomery County, members are appointed by the County Council and confirmed by the County Executive. In Prince George's County, the County Executive appoints all five members subject to County Council confirmation. Of the members from each county, no more than three may be of the same political party. The appointing authority names the planning board chair. The Commission chair alternates each year between the two planning board chairs. The alternate becomes vice-chair.

The Commission appoints the executive director, general counsel, and secretary-treasurer. In Prince George's County, the parks and recreation director and planning director are appointed by the county planning board. In Montgomery County, the planning board appoints a director of parks and planning (Code 1957, Art. 28, secs. 1-101 through 8-125).

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual
e-mail: mdmanual@mdarchives.state.md.us

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright July 14, 2016 Maryland State Archives