[photo, 301 West Preston St., Baltimore, Maryland] c/o Governor's Office for Children
301 West Preston St., Suite 1502, Baltimore, MD 21201
(410) 767-2547

301 West Preston St., Baltimore, Maryland, November 2003. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

Alison N. Smith, Youth Chair (elected by Council youth members to 1-year term), 2016

Appointed by Governor: Dennis Barnes, Jr.; Zachary N. Caplan; Nicholas Coleman; Shanna Daniels; Noelle Dayal; David Evans, Jr.; Grace Tingley Hageman; Tierra Harris; Kayla Knotts; Casey Levy; Patricia M. Miller; Antonio Morrell; Gabrielle N. Nelson; Sydney P. Parker; Anna Selbrede; Joseph Vogel. Terms expire 2016.

Appointed by Senate President: Sarah Ahmed; Kimberly Carter; Calvin Crunkleton; Maya Lapinski; Connor Mull; Tahseen Rasheed; Jamaka Thomas; Savannah Williams. Terms expire 2016.

Appointed by House Speaker: Norah Corasaniti; Jonathan Dayton; Tyler Hagen; Christian Hooker; Ian McGrory; Viraj Paul; Alison N. Smith; Sydney Young. Terms expire 2016.

Representing Maryland Association of Student Councils: Inuri Abeysekara; Jessica Bishai; Maggie Chen; Alisha Desai; Emma Gilligan; Michael Keffler; Abigail King; Thorne Lindsey; Ryan Pickrel; Matthew Saxton; Nicholas Schmitz; Hollayann Wettstein; Eric Zhao. Terms expire 2016.

Representing University System of Maryland Student Council: Gayon Sampson; Brandon Wharton; two vacancies. Terms expire 2016.

Representing Student Advisory Council to Maryland Higher Education Commission: five vacancies.

Staff: Christina Drushel Williams

Annual Report to Governor & General Assembly due June 1.

In June 2008, the Maryland Youth Advisory Council was established (Chapter 559, Acts of 2008). The Council is to keep the Governor and the General Assembly apprised of issues which are important to youth in the State. The Council formulates a legislative proposal annually and conducts public hearings on issues of concern to young people.

Beginning in July 2016, the Council has twenty-four members whose two-year terms start September 1. The Governor, Senate President, and House Speaker each appoint four members. The Governor's Office for Children appoints the remaining members, four of whom are nominated by local management boards, four by the Maryland Association of Student Councils, two by the University System of Maryland Student Council, and two by the Student Advisory Council to the Maryland Higher Education Commission (Chapter 620, Acts of 2016; Code State Government Article, sec. 9-2701).

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright July 01, 2016 Maryland State Archives