Chair (chosen by Governor): R. Earle Lewis, Jr., designee of Secretary of Transportation

Appointed by Governor: Gary M. Anderson; Steven R. Arabia; Theodore D. Atwood; Raymond P. Clarke; Timothy P. Davis; Z. Andrew Farkas, Ph.D.; William M. Gausman; Konrad E. Herling; Alex Keros; John J. Murach, Jr.; Colleen Quinn; Jill A. T. Sorensen; Michael A. Wall; Scott R. Wilson; two vacancies. Terms expire 2015.

Appointed by Senate President: Brian J. Feldman

Appointed by House Speaker: Richard K. Impallaria; Clarence K. Lam.

[Dept. of Transportation Building, 7201 Corporate Center Drive, Hanover, Maryland] Ex officio: R. Michael Gill, Secretary of Commerce; Ben H. Grumbles, Secretary of the Environment; Bihui Xu, designee of Secretary of Planning; R. Earle Lewis, Jr., designee of Secretary of Transportation; Michael S. Jones, designee of Director, Maryland Energy Administration; Kevin D. Mosier, designee of Executive Director, Public Service Commission.

Dept. of Transportation Building, 7201 Corporate Center Drive, Hanover, Maryland, May 2009. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

Staff: Curtis L. Johnson

c/o Office of Government Affairs, Dept. of Transportation
P. O. Box 548
7201 Corporate Drive, Hanover, MD 21076 - 0548
(410) 865-1098

Interim Reports to Governor & General Assembly due annually, Dec. 1, 2015 through Dec. 1, 2018 (Chapter 378, Acts of 2015).

Final Report to Governor & General Assembly due June 30, 2020 (Chapter 378, Acts of 2015).

In July 2011, the Maryland Electric Vehicle Infrastructure Council was authorized (Chapters 400 & 401, Acts of 2011).

The Council charge was to formulate an action plan to successfully integrate electric vehicles into the State's transportation network. It developed recommendations to establish a statewide charging infrastructure, including public charging stations, multi-dwelling charging stations, a method for display of price for charging, and promotion of the use of clean energy sources for charging. The Council also was to promote local and regional use of electric vehicles, attract federal funding, and increase consumer interest in electric vehicles. Further, the Council worked to develop policies that support fleet purchases of electric vehicles, and recommended inducements to invest in and own electric vehicles.

To efficiently develop its plans, the Council formed four work groups: Facilities; Infrastructure Plan and Strategy; Market Development; and Messaging and Outreach.

On December 1, 2012, the Council submitted a final report to the Governor and General Assembly.

In 2013, authorization for the Council was extended through June 30, 2015 and additional reports mandated (Chapters 64 & 65, Acts of 2013).

On January 1, 2014, the Council submitted the first of the newly mandated reports to the Governor and the General Assembly.

In 2015, authorization was further extended through June 30, 2020 (Chapter 378, Acts of 2015).

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright June 21, 2016 Maryland State Archives