Yngvild K. Olsen, M.D., Chair (chosen by Council)
G. Dan Martin, Esq., Vice-Chair

Appointed by Governor to 3-year terms: Barbara L. Allen; Dori S. Bishop; Mary Leslie Bunch; Robert L. Findling, M.D.; Christina Halpin; Japp Abraham Haynes IV; Joel E. Klein, M.D.; Sharon M. Lipford; Theresa Ann Lord; Dennis L. McDowell; Charles D. Reifsnider; Catherine Simmons-Jones; Anita M. Wells, Ph.D.; Kathleen E. Woell. Terms expire 2018.

Appointed by Senate President: Adelaide C. Eckardt

Appointed by House Speaker: Antonio L. Hayes

Appointed by Chief Judge, Court of Appeals: George M. Lipman; Dana M. Wright

Appointed by Secretary of Health & Mental Hygiene: Laura Cain, Esq.; Kathryn S. Farinholt, J.D.; Ann M. Geddes; Lauren Grimes; Shannon E. Hall; Carlos Hardy; Virginia R. Harrison; G. Dan Martin, Esq.; Kathleen O. O'Brien, Ph.D.; Yngvild K. Olsen, M.D.; Jan A. Desper Peters; Keith R. Richardson; Ellen M. Weber, J.D.

Representing county behavioral health advisory councils: Makeitha H. Abdulbarr; Kenneth R. Collins; Susan C. Lichtfuss; John R. Winslow.

Ex officio: Phoenix B. Woody, designee of Secretary of Aging; Jonathan D. Martin, designee of Secretary of Budget & Management; Anne P. Blackfield, Esq., designee of Secretary of Disabilities; Sara E. Cherico-Hsii, designee of Secretary of Health & Mental Hygiene; Gayle M. Jordan-Randolph, M.D., Deputy Secretary, Behavioral Health, Elaine Hall, designee of Deputy Secretary, Health Care Financing, & Barbara J. Bazron, Ph.D., Executive Director, Behavioral Health Administration, Dept. of Health & Mental Hygiene; Dayna L. Harris, designee of Secretary of Housing & Community Development; Brandi L. Stocksdale, designee of Secretary of Human Resources; Michael S. Ito, Psy.D., designee of Secretary of Juvenile Services; Stephen T. Moyer, Secretary of Public Safety & Correctional Services; Karen B. Salmon, Ph.D., State Superintendent of Schools; Catherine R. Drake, designee of Assistant State Superintendent, Rehabilitation Services, State Dept. of Education; Tracey Webb, designee of Executive Director, Governor's Office for Children; James R. Hedrick, designee of Executive Director, Governor's Office of Crime Control & Prevention; Kelby N. Brick, Esq., Director, Office of the Deaf & Hard of Hearing; Michelle Wojcicki, designee of Executive Director, Maryland Health Benefit Exchange; Mary J. Pizzo, J.D., designee of Public Defender; Karyn M. Black, designee of President, Maryland Association of Care Services Agencies; Lori A. Brewster, designee of President, Maryland Association of County Health Officers.

Staff: Cynthia D. Petion

c/o Behavioral Health Administration, Dept. of Health & Mental Hygiene
Dix Building, Spring Grove Hospital Center, 55 Wade Ave., Catonsville, MD 21228
(410) 402-8468

Annual Report to Governor & General Assembly due Dec. 31 (Code Health-General Article, sec. 7.5-305 (2)).

In October 2015, the Behavioral Health Advisory Council was created within the Governor's Office (Chapter 328, Acts of 2015). The Council replaces both the Maryland State Drug and Alcohol Abuse Council and the Maryland Advisory Council on Mental Hygiene.

Behavior health concerns a range of health matters, including mental health, substance use disorders, and addictive behaviors.

The Behavioral Health Advisory Council works to enhance behavioral health services statewide. It promotes policy, workforce development, and services that will ensure a system of care that is coordinated and integrates prevention, recovery, and cost-effective strategies. Further, the Council advocates for a culturally comprehensive approach to publicly funded services for prevention, early intervention, and recovery services to support individuals with behavioral health disorders and their families.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright July 01, 2016 Maryland State Archives