Admiral Charles R. Larson, US Navy (Ret.), Chair (chosen by Governor)
Nancy K. Kopp, Vice-Chair (chosen by Chair)

Appointed by Governor: Alan Cheung, Pharm.D.; George C. Creel; Lt. Gen. Emmett Paige, Jr., US Army (Ret); Joseph D. Tydings.

Appointed by Senate President: Clarence W. Blount; Barbara A. Hoffman; Gloria G. Lawlah; Thomas M. Middleton; Robert R. Neall.

Appointed by House Speaker: Norman H. Conway; George C. Edwards; Nancy K. Kopp; Howard P. Rawlings; Mark K. Shriver.

Appointed by Senate President & House Speaker: Clifford M. Kendall; Jeffrey R. Springer.

Representative of Board of Regents, University System of Maryland: Lance W. Billingsley

Ex officio: Patricia S. Florestano, Ph.D., Secretary of Higher Education; C. D. (Dan) Mote, Jr., Ph.D., President, University of Maryland, College Park; Hoke L. Smith, Ph.D., President, Towson University; Catherine R. Gira, Ph.D., President, Frostburg State University; Delores M. R. Spikes, Ph.D., President, University of Maryland Eastern Shore.

Staff: Rachel H. Hise

c/o Dept. of Legislative Services
Legislative Services Building, 90 State Circle, Annapolis, MD 21401
(410) 946-5466, (301) 970-5466
e-mail: rach@mlis.state.md.us
fax: (410) 946-5529, (301) 970-5529

The Task Force to Study the Governance, Coordination, and Funding of the University System of Maryland was created in August 1998 at the request of the General Assembly (Joint Resolution no. 4, Acts of 1998). The Task Force charge was to consider methods to increase the prominence nationally and internationally of the constituent institutions of the University System of Maryland. Statewide goals and priorities for higher education also were reviewed by the Task Force. In addition, the Task Force examined the governance and funding of the University System of Maryland; the relationship between the University System of Maryland and the Maryland Higher Education Commission; and flexibility in management and reporting functions.

In January 1999, the Task Force submitted its final report to the Governor and General Assembly.

Defunct Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual
e-mail: mdmanual@mdarchives.state.md.us

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright September 29, 2015 Maryland State Archives