[photo, Wayne A. Cawley, Jr. Building, 50 Harry S Truman Parkway, Annapolis, Maryland] c/o Rural Maryland Council, Dept. of Agriculture
Wayne A. Cawley, Jr. Building, 50 Harry S Truman Parkway, Annapolis, MD 21401 - 8960
(410) 841-5772

Wayne A. Cawley, Jr. Building, 50 Harry S Truman Parkway, Annapolis, Maryland, February 2009. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

Vacancy, Chair (chosen by Board in June, 1-year term)

Representing Dept. of Information Technology: Elliot H. Schlanger

Ex officio: James L. Henry, designee of Secretary of Business & Economic Development; Russell A. Yurek, designee of Secretary of Transportation; Michael P. Pennington, Chair, Rural Maryland Council; Ellen Flowers-Fields, designee of Chair, Tri-County Council for Southern Maryland; James J. Stakem, Chair, Tri-County Council for Western Maryland; Dirck K. Bartlett, Chair, Mid-Shore Regional Council; John Donegan III, designee of Chair, Tri-County Council for Lower Eastern Shore of Maryland; Roy W. Crow, Chair, Upper Shore Regional Council.

The Maryland Rural Broadband Coordination Board was established in July 2006 (Chapter 269, Acts of 2006; Code Economic Development Article, secs. 13-501 through 13-506). For rural and underserved areas of the State, the Board will work to establish broadband communication services. To that end, the Board will review and approve the disbursement of funds from the Rural Broadband Assistance Fund, and through cooperation with other public, private, and nonprofit entities, it will obtain further resources for establishing broadband communication services in rural and underserved areas in Maryland.

The Board consists of nine members. They include the Secretary of Business and Economic Development; the Secretary of Transportation; a representative from the Department of Information Technology; the chair of the Rural Maryland Council; and the chair or designee from five regional councils. The Board is staffed by the Rural Maryland Council, which also includes in its annual report an account of Board activities.

Authorization for the Board extends through June 30, 2020.

The Board ceased meeting in 2010.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright September 29, 2015 Maryland State Archives