Chair: Gary D. Maynard, Secretary of Public Safety & Correctional Services

Appointed by Governor: Gregory H. Carpenter; George R. Hardinger; Stefan F. LoBuglio; Edmund O'Leary; Jason Perkins-Cohen; Jacqueline Robarge; Howard Wicker; eight vacancies.

Appointed by Senate President: Verna L. Jones-Rodwell; one vacancy.

Appointed by House Speaker: Jeffrey E. Waldstreicher; one vacancy.

Ex officio: Mark J. Mechlinski, Ed.D., designee of State Superintendent of Schools; Marian V. Bland, designee of Secretary of Health & Mental Hygiene; Kara Hamilton, designee of Secretary of Human Resources; Tammy M. Brown, designee of Secretary of Juvenile Services; Alice L. Wirth, designee of Secretary of Labor, Licensing, & Regulation; J. Michael Stouffer, Commissioner of Correction; Sean Adgerson, designee of Motor Vehicle Administrator.

Staff: Bonita L. Cosgrove

c/o Dept. of Public Safety & Correctional Services
Hampton Plaza, Suite 1000
300 East Joppa Rd., Towson, MD 21286 - 3020
(410) 585-3727
e-mail: bcosgrove@dpscs.state.md.us

In May 2009, the Task Force on Prisoner Re-Entry was established (Chapters 625 & 626, Acts of 2009). To promote lower recidivism rates, the Task Force examined ways to pool resources and funding streams. Further, the Task Force analyzed existing hurdles to the reintegration of adult and juvenile offenders into the community; guidelines and criteria for tracking outcomes of re-entry program participation by inmates; and data tracking of the pre- and post-release impact of re-entry programs. Also, the Task Force researched how many idle inmates are in each State correctional facility. Finally, the Task Force developed a comprehensive re-entry plan as specified by the federal Second Chance Act of 2007 (P.L. 110-199).

The Task Force submitted its final report to the Governor and General Assembly in December 2011. Authorization for the Task Force ended June 30, 2012.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual
e-mail: mdmanual@mdarchives.state.md.us

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright September 29, 2015 Maryland State Archives