Thomas M. Middleton, Co-Chair (appointed by Senate President)
John P. Donoghue, Co-Chair (appointed by House Speaker)

Appointed by Lifespan: Louis Kaufman, M.D.

Appointed by Maryland Association of Community Colleges: Bradley M. Gottfried, Ph.D.

Appointed by Maryland Chapter, American Academy of Family Practitioners: Michael J. Fadden, M.D.

Appointed by Maryland Chapter, American Academy of Pediatrics: Fayette M. Engstrom, M.D.

Appointed by Maryland Hospital Association: James P. Hamill; Joseph Ross; Christine M. Stefanides; Christine R. Wray.

Appointed by Maryland Rural Health Association: Jacob F. Frego

Appointed by Maryland State Medical Society: Carol A. Paris, M.D.

Appointed by Rural Maryland Council: Thomas McLoughlin

Ex officio: Michael J. (Ben) Steffen, designee of Secretary of Health & Mental Hygiene; C. Irving Pinder, Jr., designee of Chair, State Board of Physicians; Andrea E. Mansfield, designee of Secretary of Higher Education; Andy Clark, designee of Chancellor, University of Maryland; David L. Stewart, M.D., designee of Dean, School of Medicine, University of Maryland, Baltimore; Norman A. Poulsen, M.D., designee of President, The Johns Hopkins University.

Staff: Claudia R. Baquet, M.D.

c/o Dean's Office
Bressler Research Building, Room 14-029
University of Maryland School of Medicine
655 West Baltimore St., Baltimore, MD 21201 - 1559
(410) 706-1742
e-mail: cbaquet@som.umaryland.edu

In June 2008, the Task Force to Review Physician Shortages in Rural Areas was established (Chapter 182, Acts of 2008). The Task Force studied recruitment and retention of primary care physicians in Maryland's rural areas; funding of programs to encourage physicians to practice in rural areas; and new academic recruitment programs for potential physicians interested in living and practicing medicine in rural areas. The Task Force also evaluated federal and State programs that equalize physician distribution across geographic areas; and tax and financial incentives for physicians who practice in underserved rural areas. Further, the Task Force recommended ways to encourage more primary care physicians to practice in rural Maryland and how to support the establishment of the Rural Residency Track Pilot Program at the University of Maryland School of Medicine.

In December 2008, the Task Force submitted its report to the Senate Education, Health and Environmental Affairs Committee, the Senate Finance Committee, and the House Health and Government Operations Committee. Authorization for the Task Force extended through June 30, 2009.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual
e-mail: mdmanual@mdarchives.state.md.us

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright September 29, 2015 Maryland State Archives