[photo, Dix Building, Spring Grove Hospital Center, 55 Wade Ave., Catonsville, Maryland] Dale E. Meyer, Chair (chosen by Task Force)

Appointed by Senate President: one vacancy

Appointed by House Speaker: Shirley Nathan-Pulliam

Appointed by Governor: Mary A. Allen; Anne Marie Barnett; George Brown; Robert A. Burns; Kimberly C. Burton; Peter R. Cohen, M.D.; Charlotte M. Cooksey; Richard M. Davis; Consuelo G. Escoe; Lisa Ann Ford, M.D.; Robert K. Gehman; Tracy A. Gilmore, Esq.; Arlene D. Hackbarth; Marta J. Hopkinson, M.D.; Dawn J. James; Craig S. Juengling; Lisa H. Kornberg; Deana C. Krizan; Donna J. Mazyck; O. Lee McCabe III, Ph.D.; Patricia B. Miedusiewski; Patrice O'Toole; Fred C. Osher, M.D.; Yvonne M. Perret; Jacqueline L. Phillips; Lawrence Rogers, Esq.; Richard B. Rosenblatt, Esq.; William Sciarillo, Sc.D.; Mark Segal; Kelvin M. Silver; Wilmore Sterling; Gloria J. Valentine; Anne M. Weiss, Esq.; Robert K. White.

Dix Building, Spring Grove Hospital Center, 55 Wade Ave., Catonsville, Maryland, April 2003. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

Contact: Patricia B. Miedusiewski

c/o Mental Hygiene Administration, Dept. of Health & Mental Hygiene
Dix Building, Spring Grove Hospital Center, 55 Wade Ave., Catonsville, MD 21228
(410) 402-8402
e-mail: pmiedusiewski@dhmh.state.md.us

The Task Force on the Needs of Persons with Co-occurring Mental Health and Substance Use Disorders was organized in October 2003 as the Task Force on the Needs of Persons with Co-occurring Mental Illness and Substance Abuse Disorders (Chapter 297, Acts of 2003). It reformed under its present name in July 2005 (Chapter 426, Acts of 2005).

The Task Force was to develop creative ways to provide efficient and thorough services to those who suffer from co-occurring mental illness and substance abuse disorders. It was to recommend how to fund these services, how and where to provide residence for those suffering from this combination of disorders, and how the Mental Hygiene Administration and the Alcohol and Drug Abuse Administration can implement a training program for mental health and addiction counselors. Finally, the Task Force was to recommend necessary legislation to implement its recommendations.

The Task Force consisted of thirty-nine members. Thirty-seven of these were appointed by the Governor. The Senate President and the House Speaker each appointed one member.

In December 2004, the Task Force submitted its interim report.

Authorization for the Task Force extended to December 31, 2006 (Chapter 426, Acts of 2005).

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual
e-mail: mdmanual@mdarchives.state.md.us

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright September 29, 2015 Maryland State Archives