Chair: Anthony G. Brown, Lt. Governor
Vice-Chair: Joshua M. Sharfstein, M.D., Secretary of Health & Mental Hygiene
[photo, Herbert R. O'Conor State Office Building, 201 West Preston St., Baltimore, Maryland] Appointed by Governor to 3-year terms:

James S. Chesley, Jr., M.D.; Roger C. Merrill, M.D.; Vinaychandra K. Shah, M.D. Terms expire 2015.

Margaret E. O'Kane; Marcos Pesquera; Jon Shematek, M.D.; Christine R. Wray; two vacancies. Terms expire 2016.

Barbara J. Epke; Kathleen M. White, R.N., Ph.D.; Nicolette Highsmith Vernick; one vacancy. Terms expire 2017.

Herbert R. O'Conor State Office Building, 201 West Preston St., Baltimore, Maryland, December 2000. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

Sara E. Cherico-Hsii, Director

c/o Office of Secretary, Dept. of Health & Mental Hygiene
Herbert R. O'Conor State Office Building, 201 West Preston St., Baltimore, MD 21201
(410) 767-5660

Annual Report to Governor & General Assembly due Jan. 1 (Executive Order 01.01.2011.09).

The Governor created the Maryland Health Quality and Cost Council in October 2007 (Executive Order 01.01.2007.24). In May 2011, the Council was reconstituted (Executive Order 01.01.2011.09).

The Council recommended priorities for health care quality improvement and cost containment. To improve the quality of health care and limit its costs, the Council facilitated cooperation and collaboration among medical groups, hospitals, health care providers, health insurance carriers, State and local government agencies, and professional oversight and licensing boards.

The Council developed a chronic care management plan to improve the quality and cost effectiveness of care for individuals with chronic illnesses, such as cardiovascular disease, cancer, and diabetes. Also, the Council was to facilitate the integration of health information technology in health care systems to ensure that such technology is used to its fullest potential. The Council was authorized to examine other issues and make recommendations to improve health care quality and value throughout Maryland.

The Council last met in December 2014.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright April 11, 2016 Maryland State Archives