Joseph A. Schmitz, Chair (chosen by Task Force)

Appointed by State Superintendent of Schools: Katharine M. Oliver

Appointed by Harford County Superintendent of Schools: Charles G. Hagan

Ex officio: Denise B. Carnaggio, designee of Harford County Executive; Richard C. Slutzky, President, Harford County Council; Nancy Reynolds, President, Harford County Board of Education; Joseph A. Schmitz, designee of Superintendent of Schools, Harford County; John F. Mayhorne, designee of President, Harford Community College; William C. Smith, designee of President, Harford County Education Association; Pamela J. Klahr, President, Harford County Chamber of Commerce; Maria A. Terry, President, Route 40 Business Association; Dean R. Ertwine, designee of President, Board of Directors, Army Alliance; Michael A. Parker, Chair, Board of Directors, Northeast Maryland Technology Council.

Staff: Kathryn M. Carmello

c/o Harford County Board of Education
Harford County Public Schools A. A. Roberty Building
102 South Hickory Ave., Bel Air, MD 21014
(410) 809-6066
e-mail: kathy.carmello@hcps.org

In July 2014, the Task Force to Study Vocational and Technical Education Programs in Harford County was authorized (Chapter 429, Acts of 2014).

First, the Task Force examined the current capacity of vocational and technical programs at Harford Technical High School and at Harford County's other high schools, and assessed what additional capacity is needed. Options for providing additional capacity were studied, including the establishment of a second technical high school. The Task Force reviewed vocational and technical programs and high schools in the State; evaluated whether Harford County's current programs meet the needs of the economy and future employers; and examined the transportation needs of students in vocational and technical programs.

The Task Force consulted with the committee formed by Harford County Public Schools to review program offerings at Harford County Technical High School.

In December 2014, the Task Force submitted its report to the Governor, General Assembly, Harford County Executive, Harford County Council, and Harford County Board of Education.

Authorization for the Task Force ended June 30, 2015.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual
e-mail: mdmanual@mdarchives.state.md.us

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright September 29, 2015 Maryland State Archives