James J. Cromwell, Esq., Chair (chosen by Commission)

Appointed by Governor: Eleanor M. Carey, Esq.; William E. Hanna, Jr.; John W. Hardwicke, Esq.; LaMont W. Flanagan, Esq.; George McQuade Lipman, Esq.; Charles F. Mades; Catherine McCullough Shultz, Esq.; Stuart O. Simms; William H. Stagg; Frank R. Weathersbee, Esq.; Lois Y. Whitaker.

Appointed by Chief Judge, Court of Appeals: P. Dennis Belman, Esq.; James J. Cromwell, Esq.; Vivian Jenkins; Joseph H. H. Kaplan; Norman J. Moore; Theresa A. Nolan; Dana C. Petersen, Esq.; George B. Riggin, Jr., Esq.; Robert F. Sweeney; Edward L. Utz; Paul H. Weinstein; Alan M. Wilner.

Appointed by Senate President: F. Vernon Boozer; Ralph M. Hughes; Ida G. Ruben; Norman R. Stone, Jr.

Appointed by House Speaker: Rushern L. Baker III; Thomas E. Dewberry; Richard La Vay; Mary Louise Preis.

Contact: Albert Winchester III

P. O. Box 49
196 Duke of Gloucester St., Annapolis, MD 21404 - 0049
(410) 269-6465; fax: (410) 974-8244

The Commission on the Future of Maryland Courts was established in 1995 (Chapter 561, Acts of 1995). The Commission studied ways to coordinate and promote fair and efficient criminal justice and public safety systems. It recommended innovative mechanisms to deal with crimes by juveniles and promptly resolve domestic cases by court-related social services to families and children. To reduce costs and improve efficiency, the Commission considered modern court administration. In addition, the Commission recommended ways to ensure the fair selection and evaluation of judges, prosecutors, clerks, and other justice system officials; protect the jury system and preserve its independence; and adequately fund the court system and its agencies.

On January 18, 1996, an interim report was submitted to the Governor. On December 15, 1996, the Commission submitted its final report to the Governor and General Assembly. Authorization for the Commission ended January 1997 (Code Courts and Judicial Proceedings Article, secs. 13-701 through 13-707).

Defunct Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright September 29, 2015 Maryland State Archives