Michael R. Atkins, M.D., Chair (chosen by the Commission), 2016
Leslie R. Hardy, Vice-Chair (chosen by the Commission), 2014

Appointed by Secretary of Natural Resources: Leslie R. Hardy, 2014; John Anderson, 2015; Michael B. Grant, 2016.

Appointed by Somerset County Board of County Commissioners: Ladell Dorman, 2014; Keith Ward, 2016.

Appointed by Mayor of Crisfield: Michael R. Atkins, M.D., 2016; Tillie Doyle, 2016.

Bonnie Mathews, Secretary-Treasurer (appointed by Commission)

Douglas Reedy, Executive Director (appointed by Secretary of Natural Resources)

Staff: Michael B. Grant

c/o Boating Services, Department of Natural Resources
Tawes State Office Building, E-4, 580 Taylor Ave. Annapolis, MD 21401 - 2397
(410) 260-8013; fax: (410) 260-8453

Annual Report to Department of Natural Resources on Somers Come Marina revenues & expenses due Oct. 1 (Chapters 240 & 241, Acts of 2008).

Report (with Department of Natural Resources) to General Assembly on evaluation of Commission work due Nov. 1, 2013 (Chapters 240 & 241, Acts of 2008)

Somer Cove Marina was established in 1958, and was deeded by the City of Crisfield to the Department of Natural Resources in 1980. In November 2008, the Somers Cove Marina Commission was established to oversee the operation of the Marina (Chapters 240 & 241, Acts of 2008).

To improve services to the boating public, the Commission, with the Executive Director, annually develops a master plan for the operation, maintenance, development, and improvement of Somers Cove Marina at Crisfield in Somerset County, Maryland. To implement the master plan, the Commission adopts an operating budget which may use the Somers Cove Marina Improvement Fund towards its objectives. The Commission also sets policy, generally oversees marina operations, and assesses slip fees and other charges. To fund its capital budget, the Commission must apply for grants from the State's Waterway Improvement Fund, and may receive funds from the City of Crisfield, Somerset County, the State, and other sources.

The Commission's seven members serve four-year terms. Three are appointed by the Secretary of Natural Resources, two by the Somerset County Board of County Commissioners, and two by the Mayor of Crisfield. From its members, the Commission elects a chair and vice-chair. Also, the Commission appoints a secretary-treasurer, who may not be a Commission member. Appointed by the Secretary of Natural Resources, the Executive Director supervises the marina manager (Code Natural Resources Article, sec. 5-908.1).

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright September 29, 2015 Maryland State Archives