[photo, Audrey E. Scott, Maryland Secretary of Planning] AUDREY E. SCOTT
Secretary of Planning, 2003-07
Acting Secretary of Planning, 2003

Secretary of Planning, March 5, 2003 to January 17, 2007. Acting Secretary of Planning, January 16 to March 5, 2003. Member, Governor's Executive Council, 2003-07; Subcabinet for Children, Youth, and Families, 2003-05; Governor's Council on the Chesapeake Bay (Governor's Chesapeake Bay Cabinet), 2003-07. Vice-Chair, Smart Growth Subcabinet, 2003-07. Member, Environmental Restoration and Development Task Force, 2003; Task Force to Study the Maryland Heritage Structure Rehabilitation Tax Credit Program, 2003; Governor's Commission on Hispanic Affairs, 2003; Governor's Commission to Study Poverty in Maryland, 2003.

Audrey E. Scott, Secretary of Planning, 2003.

Member, Development Capacity Task Force, 2003-04; State Information Technology Board, 2003-04; Task Force to Study Public School Facilities, 2003-04; Advisory Committee on the Management and Protection of the State's Water Resources, 2003-04. Chair, Task Force to Study the Maryland Agricultural Land Preservation Foundation, 2003-04. Member, Advisory Council for Port Land-Use Development, 2003-05.

Member, Critical Area Commission for the Chesapeake and Atlantic Coastal Bays, 2003-07; Community Legacy Board, 2003-07; Commission on Environmental Justice and Sustainable Communities, 2003-07; Maryland Heritage Areas Authority, 2003-07; Maryland Advisory Council on Historic Preservation, 2003-07; Governor's Commission on Housing Policy, 2003-07 (chair, land use & housing subcommittee); Interdepartmental Advisory Committee for Minority Affairs, 2003-07; Patuxent River Commission, 2003-07; Rural Legacy Board, 2003-07; Scenic and Wild Rivers Review Board, 2003-07; Interagency Committee on School Construction, 2003-07; State Highway Access Valuation Board, 2003-07; Advisory Committee on Transportation Goals, Benchmarks, and Indicators, 2003-07; Tri-County Council for Southern Maryland, 2003-07; State Advisory Council on Water Security and Sewerage Systems, 2004; Task Force to Study the Dynamics of Elderly and Retiree Migration Into and Out of Maryland, 2004-06; Bay Restoration Fund Advisory Committee, 2004-07; Interagency Disabilities Board, 2004-07. Chair, Annexation Workgroup, 2005. Chair, Governor's Task Force on Workforce Housing, 2005-06. Member, Task Force on Traffic Capacity Across the Chesapeake Bay, 2005-06; Governor's Commission for Protecting the Chesapeake Bay through Sustainable Forestry, 2005-07; Advisory Committee for the Jefferson Patterson Historical Park and Museum, 2005-07. Board of Trustees, Maryland Agricultural Land Preservation Foundation, 2005-07. Chair, Maryland Heritage Areas Authority, 2005-07. Chair, Maryland Advisory Council on Historic Preservation, 2005-07. Member, Governor's Intergovernmental Commission for Agriculture, 2006-07; Maryland Military Installation Council, 2006-07; State Coordinating Committee for Human Services Transportation, 2006-07. Chair, Maryland Advisory Committee on Historic Agricultural Structure Preservation, 2006-07.

Member, Board of Trustees, Maryland Automobile Insurance Fund, 2015-.

Member, Bowie City Council, 1975. Mayor, City of Bowie, 1976-82.

Special Assistant in Community Planning and Development, then General Deputy Assistant Secretary, U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development, 1981-91.

Member, Prince George's County Council, representing 4th Council District, 1994-2002 (vice-chair, 2001; liaison, board of education, 1995-2002; liaison, prince george's county municipal association, 1995-2002; member, transportation, housing & the environment committee, chair, 2002; member, health, education & human services committee, chair, 2002).

Born in Boston, Massachusetts, 1936. Tufts University, B.A. (English), 1957; George Washington University, M.A. (legislative affairs), 1989. Former public school teacher; also taught in France and Japan under Overseas Teachers' Division, U.S. Dept. of Defense. Chair, Board of Directors, Bowie Health Center/Dimensions Healthcare System, 1970-94. Member, Maryland Municipal League, 1976- (president, 1979). Executive Director, National Capital Chapter, National Multiple Sclerosis Society, 1991-94 (board of directors, 1976-91; member, 1976-). General Manager of Land Planning, Chaney Enterprises, 2007-14. Delegate, Republican Party National Convention, 1996, 2000, 2012. Chair, Maryland Republican Party, 2009-10. Vice-Chair, Chesapeake Charities. Past chair, Eastern Shore Advisory Council. Past vice-chair, Board of Directors, Preservation Maryland. Past member, Board of Directors, Jefferson Patterson Park and Museum; Maryland Women's Heritage Center. Woman of Distinction, Soroptimist International of Bowie-Crofton, 2003. Inducted into Maryland Women's Hall of Fame, 2007. Civic Leadership Award, Community Foundation for Prince George's County, 2007. Mid-Shore Woman of Distinction, Girl Scouts of the Chesapeake Bay, 2015. Married; four sons.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright May 23, 2016 Maryland State Archives