[photo, Harriet Tregoning, Maryland Secretary of Planning] HARRIET TREGONING
Secretary of Planning, 2000-01
Special Secretary of Smart Growth, 2001-03

Secretary of Planning, July 1, 2000 to June 30, 2001. Member, Governor's Executive Council, 2000-01. Chair, Smart Growth and Neighborhood Conservation Subcabinet, 2000-01; Task Force to Study the Maryland Agricultural Land Preservation Foundation, 2000-01.

Member, Maryland Agricultural Land Preservation Foundation, 2000-01; Maryland Building Rehabilitation Code Advisory Council, 2000-01; Chesapeake Bay Critical Area Commission, 2000-01; Maryland Greenways Commission, 2000-01; Maryland Heritage Areas Authority, 2000-01; Governor's Commission on Hispanic Affairs, 2000-01; State Information Technology Board, 2000-01; Interdepartmental Advisory Committee for Minority Affairs, 2000-01; Patuxent River Commission, 2000-01; Rural Legacy Board, 2000-01; Scenic and Wild Rivers Review Board, 2000-01; Interagency Committee on School Construction, 2000-01; State Highway Access Valuation Board, 2000-01; Tri-County Council for Southern Maryland, 2000-01; Western Maryland Economic Development Task Force, 2000-01.

Special Secretary of Smart Growth, July 1, 2001 to February 2003. Chair, Smart Growth Subcabinet, 2001-03. Member, Commission on Environmental Justice and Sustainable Communities, 2001; Advisory Committee on Transportation Goals, Benchmarks, and Indicators, 2001; Advisory Committee on the Management and Protection of the State's Water Resources, 2002-03; Rebuild La Plata Task Force, 2002-03.

Environmental Engineer, Region 6, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, 1982-84. Environmental Engineer, Toxic Substances Control Division, California Department of Health Services, 1984-85. Chief, Resource Conservation and Recovery Act (RCRA) Enforcement Section, Hazardous Waste Management Division, Region 6, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, 1988-89. Branch Chief, Office of Policy Analysis, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, 1992-95 (senior policy analyst, 1989-90; section chief, 1990-92). Director, Development, Community and Environment Division, Office of Policy, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, 1995-2000.

Chair, Transportation and Infrastructure Committee, Sustainable Communities Task Force of President's Council on Sustainable Development, 1995-97. Member, White House Livable Communities Task Force, 1999-.

Director, Office of Planning, District of Columbia, 2007-14. Member, National Capital Planning Commission, 2007-14.

Director, Office of Economic Resilience, U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development, 2014-15. Board of Directors, Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority, 2014-16. Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary, Office of Community Planning and Development, U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development, 2015-.

Born in Chicago, Illinois, 1961. Attended Washington University, 1978-81 (civil engineering & public policy). Loeb Fellow, Harvard University Graduate School of Design, 2003-04. Executive Director, Smart Growth Leadership Institute, 2003-07. Director, Governors' Institute on Community Design, 2004-07. Smart Growth Hero, 1000 Friends of Maryland, 2014. Married.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright May 23, 2016 Maryland State Archives