[photo, Roger L. Richardson, Maryland Secretary of Agriculture] ROGER L. RICHARDSON
Secretary of Agriculture, 2007-09

Member, Board of Regents, University System of Maryland, 2007-09; Governor's Executive Council, 2007-09; Governor's Council on the Chesapeake Bay (Governor's Chesapeake Bay Cabinet), 2007-09; Governor's Subcabinet for International Affairs, 2007-09; Smart Growth Subcabinet, 2007-09; BayStat Subcabinet, 2008-09. Chair, Governor's Intergovernmental Commission for Agriculture, 2007-09; Renewable Fuels Incentive Board, 2007-09. Board of Directors, Maryland Agricultural and Resource-Based Industry Development Corporation, 2007-09. Member, Maryland Agricultural Education and Rural Development Assistance Board, 2007-09; Maryland Agricultural Land Preservation Foundation, 2007-09; Bay Restoration Fund Advisory Committee, 2007-09; Climate Change Commission, 2007-09; Critical Area Commission for the Chesapeake and Atlantic Coastal Bays, 2007-09; State Children's Environmental Health and Protection Advisory Council, 2007-09; Maryland Food Center Authority, 2007-09; Maryland Horse Industry Board, 2007-09; Pesticide Advisory Committee, 2007-09; Rural Legacy Board, 2007-09; Rural Maryland Council, 2007-09; Seafood Marketing Advisory Commission, 2007-09; Scenic and Wild Rivers Review Board, 2007-09; State Soil Conservation Committee, 2007-09.

Member, Task Force on Renewable Alternative Fuels, 2007; Advisory Committee on the Management and Protection of the State's Water Resources (2005), 2007-08.

Supervisor, Worcester County Soil Conservation District, 1972-77. Member, State Committee Maryland Agriculture Stabilization Committee, 1976-80 (presidential appointment). Member, Board of Education, Worcester County, 1983-93 (president, 1992-93; vice-president, 1990-92). Chair, Maryland Farm Service Committee, 1993-2000 (presidential appointment). Chair, Board of Review, Department of Agriculture, 1993-2007 (member, 1987-93). Member, Agricultural Stewardship Commission, 2005-06. Member, Farmland Preservation Committee, Worcester County.

Born in Worcester County, Maryland, April 30, 1934. Grain farmer. Charter member, Snow Hill Grain, Inc., 1966-. Founder, agricultural trucking company, 1980-. Manager, Dividing Creek Public Drainage Association, 1973-. Board of Directors, American Corn Growers Association, 2003-. President, National Association of Farmer-Elected Committees, 2005-06 (1st vice-president, 2003-04). Maryland Public Policy Conflict Resolution Fellow, Center for Dispute Resolution, University of Maryland School of Law, 2008. Advisory Council, Harry R. Hughes Center for Agro-Ecology. Member, Worcester County Farm Bureau. President, Snow Hill Grain Co-op. Past president, Snow Hill Lions Club. Married; two children, six grandchildren, six great-grandchildren.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright March 14, 2016 Maryland State Archives