Report to General Assembly on bills, resolutions, & recommendations intended for submission at next session.

Report to General Assembly updating matters before Committee due periodically.

The Legislative Policy Committee originated in 1939 as the Legislative Council (Chapter 62, Acts of 1939). The Council was reorganized under its current name in 1976 (Chapter 362, Acts of 1976).

The work of the standing committees of the General Assembly is supervised and coordinated by the Legislative Policy Committee. The Committee appoints special committees and subcommittees to study legislative matters and studies the rules and procedures of the Senate and House of Delegates. During the interim between sessions of the General Assembly, the Committee refers recommended subject matter it receives to interim committees, holds hearings on any subject matter, and subpoenas witnesses and records as required. The Committee may prepare its own legislative recommendations and may endorse a legislative program in the form of bills, resolutions, or other proposals to be submitted to the General Assembly.

The Committee consists of twenty-eight members: fourteen from the Senate, fourteen from the House of Delegates. Representing the Senate are the Senate President; President Pro Tem; Majority Leader; Minority Leader; and the chairs of the standing committees on Budget and Taxation; Education, Health and Environmental Affairs; Finance; and Judicial Proceedings. The Senate President appoints six additional senators as members. Representing the House of Delegates are the House Speaker; Speaker Pro Tem; Majority Leader; Minority Leader; and the chairs of the standing committees on Appropriations, Health and Government Operations, Economic Matters, Environmental Matters, Judiciary, and Ways and Means. The House Speaker appoints four additional delegates as members. If a senator or delegate serves simultaneously in more than one of the ex officio positions, the President or Speaker appoints an additional member to ensure that each chamber always is represented by fourteen members. The Senate President and House Speaker serve as co-chairs (Code State Government Article, secs. 2-401 through 2-410).

The Management Subcommittee of the Legislative Policy Committee was initiated informally in 1979 to consider certain in-house legislative issues, such as legislative agency budgets and staff, and expense guidelines for district offices and travel.

Eight members constitute the Subcommittee. The Senate President and House Speaker co-chair the Subcommittee, and each appoint three members.

House of Delegates
Legislative Committees
Legislative Process
Maryland General Assembly
Maryland Government
Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, Advisory Boards
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright May 12, 2016 Maryland State Archives